Sunday, July 21, 2013

Senator Franklin Drilon has been elected Senate President

Senator Franklin Drilon has been elected Senate President with a vote of 17-6.

President Aquino's Liberal Party has gained control of both houses of Congress as the President is due to deliver his State of the Nation address today.

He beat former Senate president Sen. Juan Ponce Enrile.

Enrile resigned in June following accusations of misuse of the Senate's funds and the failure of his son Cagayan Rep. Jack Enrile to win a Senate seat in the May elections.

In his speech, Drilon vowed to change the image of the Senate and craft laws that will have an impact on the lives of Filipinos, particularly the poor, and bring the Senate closer to the masses.

Sen. Ralph Recto was elected Senate President Pro Tempore while Sen. Alan Peter Cayetano is the new Senate Majority Leader.

Quezon City Rep. Feliciano "Sonny" Belmonte retained his position as House Speaker.

He bested San Juan Rep. Ronaldo Zamora and Leyte Rep. Ferdinand Martin Romualdez.

Rep. Neptali Gonzales is majority leader while Zamora is minority leader.

Drilon and Belmonte are both Vice Chairs of the ruling Liberal Party of President Aquino.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...